Reviews

donnybrook_guesthouseButterfly on flower

At Donnybrook Guesthouse we aim to keep our guests comfortable and happy in our beautiful country environment.

We’re proud of two awards which we have to share with you.

Sleeping Out awarded Donnybrook Guesthouse Best Establishment in Glenferness 2015 and 2018 and Best Value for Money in Glenferness 2015 for their annual Guest Satisfaction Awards.

Donnybrook Sleeping Out award

 

READ SOME OF OUR REVIEWS ON THE VARIOUS TRAVEL WEBSITES 

LATEST REVIEWS:

March 2019

“Eric and I are from Cape Town and needed a comfortable self catering unit close to our friends in Glenferness and
Bryanstown. Location was ideal, an easy 20 minute drive from Lanseria airport and very convenient to our friends. We asked for breakfast each morning of our 4 night stay. We were treated to a delicious cooked breakfast at the time of our choice, in the main house. We so enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of the horse farm and stables. We had a 2 bedroomed house, comfortable , clean and rustic.”
October 2018
“We stayed at Donnybrook off and on for three weeks in a lovely cottage on the property with beautiful views of the horse paddocks. It was such a nice place to come back to at the end of long days. The house had a large living/dining room leading out onto a patio, a large kitchen, 2 bedrooms with 3 beds and a bathroom. The staff were so helpful and the owner Dieneke is very friendly. You can pet the horses and hang out with the resident dogs. Easy to get to in the Lonehill area of JNB. Good shops are nearby.”
March 2018
“I was working in Joburg for a few months and was staying here as the place was close to work. This was my first trip to South Africa and staying here felt like a home away from home. The guest house is part of an estate which also has a stable and vast grasslands. I was put up in the main house which has all the amenities one needs, rooms are cleaned everyday and the place is maintained very neat. The place has a character of its own and you fall in love with it. The living room feels warm and gives you a homely feeling. The place is very secure and has a fence running all around. Would definitely go back any day.”
May 2017
“Coming from a farm background and also being an owner of a guesthouse on a farm, I understand the challenges of having a guesthouse on our farm. Guests that complain should please keep the rural aspects in mind. Our unit was clean and warm and the family could make fire and sit around the fireplace till late at night chatting and reminiscing. Other guests even joined us. Staff were friendly and helpful. Filter coffee at breakfast was great. Meeting the horses and feeding them apples was loads of fun. Owner was friendly.”
March 2017
“Donnybrook has been an excellent place to stay. The staff is very friendly and listen to your requests. The telephone conversations I had with Dieneke prior to coming to Donnybrook were very warm and when I arrived on site she was very welcoming and she gave me a choice to choose where I would have preferred to stay, even though I had already booked online. Great view, neat and peaceful, close to the shops, easy to find as the address is written boldly on the board at the gate. Transport easily accessible.
I liked the vintage style that also complemented the style of the guest house. I have even extended my stay after staying here the whole month already.”
FROM SHEILA FERRIS, 29 November 2016

“We had a most enjoyable 3 day stay. Peaceful, quiet and beautiful setting. Dieneke made us feel most welcome and the directions were spot on. Will definitely return and recommend Donnybrook.”

FROM DEEPAK RAMNATH, 12 August 2016

“Best place to stay with superb burnt orange sunsets, playful horses and dogs that are so well mannered it’s amazing. The cook with her magical smile and bubbly personality just gets your morning going… You won’t go wrong if you want a home away from home with such a peaceful evening silence that you will fall asleep within 5 minutes of closing your eyes. Everything is catered for from kindness to an awesome braai filled with laughter.”
FROM WARREN WHITFIELD, 23 May 2016
“What a breath of fresh air! Absolutely loved my stay at Donnybrook! It’s very clean and the owner and staff are friendly and helpful! As for the breakfast, it’s 5 star! Thank you Dieneke! I will be back!”
FROM MARGARET FAIRWEATHER FROM CANADA

This wonderful review was written and published in a personalised photo book. Thank you Margaret!Donnybrook visit-review

HOME SWEET DONNYBROOK

“Our route from the airport to Midrand in Gauteng Province displays the generic urban face of Jo’burg – fast food outlets and used car lots. Eventually, a country road lined with large estates and wealthy homes brings us to Donnybrook Guesthouse in Glenferness.

Donnybrook is a private bed and breakfast, converted from the original farmhouse, and owned by Dieneke Swart. It sits on a gated and wired horse ranch. The entrance, which bears the signage ‘Tactical Guards protect this property’, belies the quiet and comfort attached within. Circular brick pathways meander through the patios, gardens, green fields, riding stables, and a riding ring. The house and outlying cottages have homey guest bedrooms and a cosy living room.

Dieneke has employed most of her staff for years. Those we meet include Vellee, the head cook; Sunshine, her assistant; and Knowledge, one of the ranch hands. Vellee and Sunshine serve us an ample home-cooked breakfast each morning.

When we’re not off on an expedition, we unwind on the patio or ‘stoep’, just getting to know one another. Jenn, Margaret, and sometimes Jeanette, enjoy power walks around the property on the brick paths. Edie Jane frequents Woolworths for food to throw at the voracious maws of her charges.”

FROM CRAIG RICHARDSON

“We had a really great stay at Donnybrook! Thank you. We are hoping to use Donnybrook as our JHB base for shows and training!”

FROM LYNN GALLIERS

“Just want to thank you for our awesome accommodation over the last few days. Our little spot was just perfect and as soon as I have dates for next years Western Festival – I will certainly be contacting you to reserve our house!!”

FROM KUDZAYI SIKWECHE (HARARE)

“I really had to thank you for your warm welcome and help during my stay at Donnybrook. It was indeed a pleasure and your staff was also excellent to me. I would be happy to pop in again in the near future when I visit that side of town and next time around I shall be having a clear picture of the area and be adequately prepared to fully exploit your self-catering facilities which looked extremely impressive.”

FROM CHARLES M. MBOGO (KENYA)

“Greetings from Kilifi, Kenya. We arrived back to Kenya Safely on the 31st August. We had a nice memorable moments at the Donnybrook Guest House. We thank you very much for your hospitality and making a birthday cake for our daughter. My daughter tells me that this is a moment she will never forget in her life as the holiday coincided with her 12th Birthday.

My family is all praises for your hospitality and the nice guest house that you have that makes one to feel at home away from home. We are also very grateful to your staff especially “Sunshine” (what is her name?, the one from Zimbabwe) who made us feel at home and made us nice breakfast.

We are also very grateful for the nice arrangements you made with Mr Lionel for helping in transportation in and around Jo’burg. Please pass our most sincere regards to him.

We hope to visit Donnybrook in the near future. We also hope you could get time and visit us in Mombasa on the Kenyan Coast.

LONG LIVE DIENEKE, LONG LIVE DONNYBROOK GUEST HOUSE and ALL.

With kind regards,
Charles M. Mbogo, PhD
Kenya Medical Research Institute
Centre for Geographic Medicine Research, Coast”

FROM PRINCESS (AMANZIMTOTI)

“We just want to thank you for your hospitality and your kindness. We had a great time, the rooms were always perfect when we came back from a long day of hard work. Could you also thank Vele for us, for the great food and the way she treated us.”

 

FROM DEBBIE FRANCIS

“We always stay at a place called Donnybrook whenever we go to SA – earlier this year my 2-year-old was in hospital in Sandton Clinic and I found myself driving to and from the hospital by myself. Donnybrook was awesome because it is a total of 2 turns – that’s it – very easy to get to – right slap bang in the middle between Midrand and Fourways and literally 10 minutes from Sandton Clinic.

Dieneke Swart, the lady who owns the place is fabulous – creates a very homely environment and can offer a variety of different options from single rooms to self-contained cottages.

We, and all of our friends highly recommend her.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s